Breast, Chest, Gallbladder Pain (Intercostal Nerve)

I am out celebrating Thanksgiving with my friends. I can stuff myself and breath again without my left side hurting. It was many years that I suffered intercostal pain after my rib fracture. (I’m in the middle) It is 5 months after you removed three nerves, and I am pain free. Thanks so much Dr. Dellon.

intercostal n


I am back up on the podium and also back to running again, Dr. Dellon, thanks to you. Here I am speaking at the Iron Man Sports Conference this week in Kona, Hawaii. After I injured my ribs and intercostal nerves, during the biking portion, while defending my World title in the Iron Man, I spent several years and 7 operations trying to solve my pain problem. It is just 3 months since you operated on my intercostal nerves, and I am running again, and back to inspiring others. Thanks again Dr. Dellon. Joanna Kieger, PhD.

Joanna Zieger at IronWoman conference 2017


It is just 4 weeks since your removed my damaged intercostal nerves, Dr. Dellon. I had been immobilized by pain from an old rib fracture. It even hurt to breathe deeply. Here is proof of success of your operation. I have now been able to bend down, feed my chickens, and harvest their eggs. Thanks so much . DN

intercostal nerver surgery  intercosal nerver surgery


Two years ago, at age 14 I had my gall bladder removed. I was in horrible pain since then. In fact I spent the two weeks before I saw you in a hospital, on narcotics and unable to move. It is just one week since you did “urgent” surgery on me, and removed the three intercostal nerves that were injured during the gall bladder removal. Here I am just yesterday cheering on our high school baseball team. That you Dr. Dellon. KF

 intercosta nerve


Now one year since you removed the painful right intercostal nerves damaged during my gall bladder surgery with the laparoscope. Here I am dancing with my husband at our 23 wedding anniversary. And I am back into my size 4 jeans too. Thanks again Dr. Dellon. AG

intercostal


For one year I had pain with eating, moving, changing positions. My Mom found the name for this, ACNE, abdominal wall cutaneous nerve syndrome. You removed that nerve from my abdominal wall, the nerve I injured in gym class. My color is back. I am eating again and the pain is gone. Thanks Dr Dellon. K for T.

intercostalnerve1


Here I am with my two children. All smiles now. 2 years since you removed those nerves from between my damaged ribs after my water skiing accident. All is great here in New South Wales, Australia. Your surgery turned my world back to right side up!! Thanks. Brian Pririe.

intercostal 2 years jason pirie


Here I am back surfing in Australia. That rib pain is completely gone and I am back at work. Txs Dr Dellon. CP

colin p surfing

 


 

This patient has had pain for 4 years of right sided chest wall pain after a motorcycle accident due to an injury to a branch of the intercostal nerve.  A branch of the intercostal nerve was identified on physical exam and then removed in the operating room and implanted in the muscle.  His original pain was completely resolved at this operation despite having been present for more than 4 years. 

 Operation peformed by Dr. Eric Williams


 

This patient has had two years of unremitting breast pain after breast surgery for breast cancer.  We have removed several branches of the intercostal nerves to the left armpit and chest wall.  She is only 24 hours post op and still has significant surgical discomfort, but the character and quality of her pain is completely different.  The neuropathic nature of her pain is gone.

 Operation peformed by Dr. Eric Williams


This patient survived breast cancer and has had breast reconstruction in the left breast.  But she has been plagued with severe left chest wall pain and breast pain for the past two years.  We were able to diagnose that her neuropathic  pain was due to the her intercostal nerves on the left chest wall.  We were able to remove these several branches for her through her prior scars to help her resolve her left chest wall pain.  She is back to running and exercising without pain.   She is 6 weeks out from her surgery.

 Operation peformed by Dr. Eric Williams


 

breast pain 1 copy 800x600

Despite the beautiful left breast reconstruction after cancer, I lived in pain from the original cancer surgery. Could not lift my left arm. After Drs Dellon & Williams removed my damaged intercostal nerves, I am without pain, and with my arm over my husband's shoulder. CH, a survivor

 


 

 

Prayers Answered: I suffered 6 years with pain on the right side of my chest after my gallbladder was removed. In one day you removed that pain (along with the three hurts nerves). Thanks Dr Dellon. Mary Ellen from Kentucky 


      Pain after endoscopic gall bladder surgery.


K. Hanson, Birmingham, Alabama

In January 2004, portions of my 6, 7, and 8th ribs were removed due to a plasmacytoma. The surgeon performed a muscle flap to cover the gap in the ribs. Although the surgeon was successful in getting all of the cancer, I was left with muscle and intercostal nerve damage. Over the past five years I have seen two thoracic surgeons, two plastic surgeons, a neurologist and have been to two pain management clinics. I have had multiple intercostal nerve blocks and epidurals, which worked for a few months, then became ineffective. I formed neuromas on the severed ends of the intercostal nerves. None of the physicians I consulted were willing to take the risk of repairing the damage because of the neural involvement.

 


I have had chronic excruciating and debilitating pain for five years, managed with morphine and hydrocodone for break-through pain. On February 16, 2009 I went to Gulf Breeze, FL to see Dr. Sean Wolfort with Dellon Institutes. He operated on February 18 and reconstructed muscle, removed a neuroma, buried a nerve in muscle, and removed two large cysts which formed due to muscle pulling away from bone (4 cm and 2 cm).

The difference in my pain level was immediate. I have not taken the morphine since the day before surgery and have not taken hydrocodone in nearly a month. I manage my discomfort with ibuprofen. Dr. Wolfort has been a Godsend. His self-confidence in his abilities and knowledge were comforting and well-deserved.

His positive attitude and genuine concern were like a breath of fresh air after being told numerous times that my pain was in my head and nothing could be done for me. I am eternally grateful to Dr. Wolfort for giving my life back to me.

Pre-op

      Pain after endoscopic gall bladder surgery.
                             

Post-op 


                             


 

Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome

I am giving a presentation to 20,000 people in India. I am the tall guy standing. Standing without pain in my right foot. It is one year since you operated on me, Dr. Dellon. My foot is no longer a problem, as you can see. Thank you. Mike

tarsal tunnel-001


Me at Gym. I also can travel to visit family again. Foot pain is gone after your surgery Dr. Dellon. Tx. MF

image002 2 tarsal syndrome


I am at water therapy with Julie Bergman, PT, at Southern California Aquatic Therapy in Huntington Beach, (http://socalaquatictherapy.com/julies-story). Dr. Dellon asks each person recovering from tarsal tunnel surgery is to do water therapy. Julie has helped my recovery immensely and I am walking great again without the tingling in my toes. Thanks to Dr. Dellon’s surgery and Julie’s therapy. Took a team.

onehappypatient


My foot feels great Dr. Dellon. It is so wonderful to have my life back! Saturday we spent the day at the playground and water park - things I couldn’t do last summer! SR

edited 2016-05-29 10.36.35-1 1466990515214


IMG 0054My tarsal tunnel pain is gone. Here i am all day on my boat in the Baltic Sea. Very glad I came to Dr Dellon in Baltimore for surgery. HL

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Here is a photo: our new twins, J1 & J2. Not really sure your tarsal tunnel surgery resulted in these but thanks Dr. Dellon. AH

tarsal tunnel kid


Five years since you released my right tarsal tunnels Dr. Dellon. Husband & I out birdwatching. Tx

IMG 2555


I am up high-altitude training in the mountains in South Africa near Johannesburg at the moment prepping for my 2015 defence of my title and hopefully be racing at the European Athletics champs in Prague in March

 

 

Hope you are well

Niall

 


 

I have Charcot Marie Tooth Disease, AND I had nerve entrapments in my legs that made all my symptoms worse: Dr Dellon released the nerve entrapments in both my legs two years ago. I still have CMT , but now I no longer have the symptoms related to the nerve entrapments!!!

IMG 1294


I just won Irish National 800 m champ!!! It is 5 years since you operated on both my tarsal tunnels Dr Dellon. The trophy goes to you.

running running

 

Dr Dellon's tarsal tunnel results: Run the 800 meters in Ireland

 


another girlLook at me walking barefoot with my dog in Sweeden. Two years after you redid tarsal tunnel surgery done by someone else originally.

Tx Doctor Dellon. JU

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  


I can walk the dog and stand now without the previous pain. Someone other than you Dr Dellon did my tarsal tunnel release, and then immobilized me for three weeks, and their surgery failed. It is now 6 months after your "redo" tarsal tunnel surgery and I can resume all my favorite activities. You allowed me to walk immediately after surgery and it made such a big difference.

Crystal Z.

IMG 2044 IMG 2054


Lucy Waite 6 weeks POp painting roofI am on a ladder and painting my room 6 weeks after you fixed my heel pain neuroma and tarsal tunnel surgery. Like my Grandma boots? Wow. Thanks.

LW in Utah.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Am back to teaching. Here is my classroom with me STANDING again thanks to you.  Tarsal tunnel decompression worked great. Now awaiting my students. KW in Md

tts 3 mo Karen Whitebread teaching 2 800x600

 


 

This patient had over one year of pain, burning, stinging, tingling, and numbness in the right sole of the foot from tarsal tunnel syndrome. 3 months after surgery, she has complete relief of her pain, standing, tingling, numbness. She is returned to her normal activities. We decompressed the tarsal tunnel, medial plantar nerve, lateral plantar nerve, and calcaneal nerve.

Operation peformed by Dr. Eric Williams


This patient is 4 months out from a tarsal tunnel release with a decompression of the medial plantar, lateral plantar, calcaneal nerve.  She has had excellent resolution of numbness, tingling, burning pain, and hypersensitivity in the sole of the foot.  She has been able to decrease her pain medications and increase her activities.

Operation peformed by Dr. Eric Williams


This patient is 5 months status post tarsal tunnel release with decompression of the medial plantar, lateral plantar, calcaneal nerve.  However she also had a partial laceration to the medial  plantar nerve.  This nerve was reconstructed with a neurotube to help her restore muscle function and sensation to a portion of the bottom of her foot.  She has had nearly 100% relief of her presurgical pain and has had good improvement in her sensory function and muscle function in her foot.

Operation peformed by Dr. Eric Williams


 

222 800x600

Thanks for fixing my heel pain enough so I can use the kick stand on my bike. Dr. Dellon, here are Nancy and me in Boothbay Harbor Maine a couple of weeks ago. We have enjoyed the summer on the cycle with an eight day trip to Nova Scotia at the end of July.

 


 

Surgery by Dr. Eric Williams

Patient is one year from a tarsal tunnel release and common peroneal nerve on the left leg and 6 months on the right leg. She had been diagnosed with peripheral neuropathy of unknown etiology for a long time. But she also nerve compressions in her legs at known sites of nerve entrapment. She has had a very good response to these procedures, and she has been able to decrease her pain medications.

 


Julie, Southern California





I am smiling after my previously failed tarsal tunnel surgery has been corrected by Dr Dellon. Water therapy helped a great deal. Now I bike and run again. Julie, Southern California.











Ann and Ron "stepping" out for an afternoon of fun in Denver following release of her tarsal tunnel three months ago by Doctor Dellon










Army Sergeant returns to patrol on Halloween with his daughters after Dr Dellon's surgery on the nerves in both of his legs.







 





I had good breakthroughs in my running this Spring, winning a 400m race in Luxembourg and coming second in an international 800m race in Sweden before finishing 3rd at the Irish National Senior Mens Indoor Athletics Championships in February. This was my first ever national medal in a senior event and to be 3rd fastest 800m runner in Ireland this year is quite an achievement considering where I  have come from!"




                              



January 7, 2011

Dear Dr. Dellon,

It has been four years since you performed a revision tarsal tunnel surgery on my right foot.  There are not enough words to express my gratutude for what you have done fro me.  As you can see, I recently did the Pacific Coast Triathlon in September 2010 and yes, I finished!  In 2006, I was told by a prominent doctor in my area, to live with my pain because there was nothing that could be done to help me.  I was 41 years old, very active with two young boys and a physical therapy business.  I could not walk without severe pain with every step.

My foot pain began in January 2005 when I was training for, ironically, the Pacific Coast Triathlon.  The pain became progressive and disabling.  After going through numerous testing, it was deteremined that I had tarsal tunnel syndrome.  In October 2005, I had a tarsal tunnel decompression.  I was doing well until three weeks post-operatively, I fell, the incision opened and subsequently, I developed a staff infection.  This lasted for months and when it finally healed, I still could not walk without severe pain. My surgeon at the time, was very supportive and supported my recovery any way he could but my problem was very difficult.  This began my search for more help or at least some hope.

I went to numerous doctors, some said that I had RSD, others had little to no experience with revision surgeries for my problem.  I began scouring the internet and calling all over the country to find help.  Then, I found you.  You gave me the simple words that changed my life, "I can help you."

After you performed the surgery in January 2007, I progressed slowly and carefully to be able to walk again.  You recommended water walking which helped me tremendously.  I own an aquatic therapy practice so I knew the benefits of warm water for the best recovery.  I could not have recovered as well without the warm water therapy and without your encouragement.  Now, I have hardly any pain in my foot and can do anything that I want!  I would have never reached this level if it hadn't been for you!

Since then, I have had a passion for helping others with similar nerve problems and have added this to my practice, thanks again, to you.  It is exciting for me to be able to see others who had no hope to be able to get back to their lives again.  It has also been a privilege and honor working with you and some of your patients.

Thank you, Dr. Dellon, for your help and commitment for helping people with such difficult problems and giving all of us hope.

Thank you for helping me to get my life back.  My two boys thank you too!

     

All the Best,

Julie Bergmann, PT

Southern California Orthopedic and Aquatic Therapy, Huntington Beach, CA


               


BACK ON “TRACK”


I had good news with my feet.
It is now one year since you did my right tarsal tunnel decompression and 10 months since you did my left tarsal tunnel decompression.
Since the start of June they have been feeling GREAT! I was away training at high altitude in France at the end of May, cycling, swimming and doing free weights training. However at the training centre there was the option of getting sports massage for just 7euro per session - so i got it almost every day on my ankles, calfs and plantar fascia. and this along with a good stretching program and regular activity really seemed to improve them.

Wait until you hear what is to come.

Because it seemed (and still seems) that running for any sort of sustained period is too sore and demands at least 2-3 days rest in between, I decided to take a different approach back to training. I have joined the "sprinters" group in my club and now do much shorter/faster stuff. this means i am not pounding my feet for too long at any given time. However the training i am doing is more quality and my speed is fantastic. Naturally from not running long distance in a while my fast twitch muscle fibres are ready to go and that, coupled with a good weight training program I’ve started in recent months mean that my raw speed is better than ever before!

I have actually entered 2 races already and posted very good times - including a personal best in the 400m of 49.51 which has received applause from my peers all across the country (Ireland IS small!) but it is a very credible time even without a gap from training of 27 months. I am just delighted to be 'back on track"!

I am attaching a photo of me leading a race in Dublin last week.

My job was to "pacemake" the race, basically being a rabbit and leading the race for other runners so they can run fast times. (Below is a link to internet coverage of the race - its only 3 minutes long! You can see me in bright orange shorts and black t shirt and i am required lead the race for the first lap, i start it in lane 6, near the outside.

Click here to watch the video

Please Note
(The

runner in black shirt and orange trunks had both bilateral tarsal tunnel surgery)

Niall Tuohy, Ireland, July 2010

Foot Drop/Peroneal Palsy


Want to thank you, Dr. Dellon, for helping me return to my love of golf and the great outdoors. As you recall, I was injured in a car accident. It is two years since your surgery on the nerves in my leg. My wife and I had a great boating trip recently, and my golf game is great. M
Dr. Dellon do you remember I could only get around putting my right leg on a scooter because I had so much pain, and my foot was also paralyzed? Look at me now, walking without any support, and I return to work this month. Thank you. NT

Thanks Dr Dellon for fixing my leg and foot pain. I was able to get off medication, have a baby and now enjoy long walks with my little one without pain. EP, Washington

CPN  PTN Ellie Prezant  baby


In 2009 Dr. Dellon operated to correct two nerve compressions that left this young woman with a paralyzed leg. Today she graduates a champion on the University of North Carolina’s swim team.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stellar Career Earns Wells Fargo Scholarship For McKay As a sprinter on North Carolina’s swimming and diving team, Katie McKay is used to measuring time in slivers of seconds. And that’s about how long – perhaps the span of one final kick to the wall – it took her to realize the impact that winning UNC’s 2017 Wells Fargo Postgraduate Scholarship would have on her life. “To be able to use this money to pursue further education is a dream come true,” said the North Carolina senior, who spoke of her goal of attending medical school while she clutched the distinctive Wells Fargo covered wagon trophy she’d been awarded along with her scholarship. “I’m so grateful for this opportunity, and for Wells Fargo’s support.” McKay was announced as this year’s Wells Fargo Postgraduate Scholarship recipient on Jan. 26 at the Rams Club’s Endowed Scholarship Dinner, an evening set aside to recognize outstanding support for Carolina Athletics. With her parents, David and Diane, in the audience, McKay became the first swimmer to receive the Wells Fargo honor. To date, Wells Fargo has given $50,000 in post-graduate scholarships to student-athletes. Previous recipients during the five-year history of the award are Michelle Ikoma (gymnastics), Peter Mangum (football), Loren Shealy (field hockey) and Carly Wooten (fencing). Wells Fargo presents the honor annually to one outstanding UNC senior student-athlete who intends to pursue graduate studies. “Giving back is part of Wells Fargo’s culture, and the scholarship for Katie makes all of us very excited,” said Sam Sugg, Senior VP and Wealth Advisor for Wells Fargo, who felt fortunate to be back at his alma mater presenting McKay with the scholarship. “We’re pleased to honor someone who’s a top-notch student and athlete with plans to go on to medical school. What a thrill for me to be here for this.” McKay is working toward a double major in biology and psychology with a minor in neuroscience. She has a grade point average of 3.98 and has earned a perfect 4.0 in four of her seven semesters. Before graduating in May, she’ll complete an honors thesis in neuroscience, evaluating the ability of neural indices of distress tolerance to predict substance use outcomes in cocaine users. She’ll graduate from UNC in May and plans to begin the medical school application process over the summer while spending a gap year doing research. Ideally she’ll start medical school in the summer of 2018, and she sees herself pointed toward the pediatric field, perhaps in surgery. “This scholarship means the world to me,” she said. “It makes the financial burden of med school a little easier, which is something that not many people have the opportunity to have. I’m so grateful.” In addition to academics and swimming, McKay has been heavily involved in community outreach during her time in Chapel Hill. She partnered with teammate Abby Fisher to launch a Carolina Athletics team in UNC’s Relay for Life event, which raises funds for the fight against cancer. The team has raised more than $12,000 over the past two years. She also volunteers in a surgical nursing unit at UNC Hospitals. She believes that ability to balance responsibilities and still excel will serve her well in medical school and her future career. “I’m usually pretty busy and I like that,” McKay said. “It’s doable. I wanted to take advantage of all the opportunities we’re given at UNC and try to do my best in everything I could.” It’s a challenge that many in attendance at the Scholarship Dinner know well. The crowd of 450 included nine Tar Heel teams: baseball, field hockey, football, men’s and women’s golf, rowing, men’s and women’s soccer, and volleyball. Sue Walsh, the Rams Club’s Associate Executive Director for Scholarship and Legacy Gifts, opened the evening and impressed upon the crowd the enormous impact that scholarship donors have. A panel of student-athletes then underscored that theme as they answered questions both serious and silly. Ably representing their teams were Andre Smith (football), Alex Comsia (men’s soccer), Annie Kingman (women’s soccer) and Taylor Leath (volleyball). They talked about how they get ready for competition (Smith: “It’s all about the music”), what their favorite books are (Kingman: Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini), the advice they’d give to a sixth grader who wants to play college sports (Comsia: “Know that if you come to UNC you’ll be challenged in a lot more than just your sport”) and what their scholarships mean to them (Leath: “It means the world to me – I don’t know what I’d do without it”). Jason Brown, a UNC graduate who played football for the Tar Heels before going on to a career in the NFL, was the keynote speaker. A shining example of the impact a UNC student-athlete can have after his or her sporting career is over – Brown’s First Fruits Farm in Louisburg, N.C., helps combat hunger in eastern North Carolina – he provided a perfect lead-in to the formal announcement of McKay’s honor. “We expect Katie to go on and do great things, and we appreciate Wells Fargo’s support of her and of all of our student-athletes,” said Rick Steinbacher, Senior Associate Athletic Director for Marketing and the evening’s master of ceremonies. “This scholarship is such an important part of our partnership. We believe our student-athletes have extraordinary things ahead of them, and Wells Fargo’s assistance in helping them reach their goals is extremely valuable to us.

Video!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://nmnathletics.com/oemjs/0/media/widget/widget.min.js";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","neulion-wjs-vc");

We got married! I am standing on a healthy tibial nerve. Tx Dr Dellon Mrs EP


PTN Eleanor Prezant wedding photo 1


It is 8 years since you fixed my peroneal palsy, Dr. Dellon. Now I’m on the UNC swim team!! Tx. KM

peroneal p1


Two years since surgery. One wife. One child. Leg works great. Thank you Dr. Dellon. GS.

peroneal 1 peroneal 2


Here I am walking! It is 15 years after you put in the nerve graft and tendon transfers to correct my ruptured common peroneal nerve at the knee. You remember I injured the bone there in a fall playing tennis. I came from Bangaladesh to see you. My leg/foot is still working well. Can you tell which side you operated on ? Thanks again Dr Dellon.

 

>

Thanks for helping my paralyzed foot work again Dr. Dellon

guy dancing

“I feel like I can do this again soon since you worked on my paralyzed leg” LW


Ten months after you reconstructed the nerves and tendons to my left foot, Dr Dellon. here I am walking on stilts, kayaking and shooting baskets with my sister. Thanks so much. MJ from Alabama

IMG 138911


 

I have begun to run again, one mile this week. Starting basketball soon. You did a great job fixing my foot Dr Dellon. MJ from Alabama

 

Naïve, reluctant, and stubborn I refused to accept this as my fate. When I was fourteen years old pain was a part of my every day life. Multiple doctors suggested that giving up the thing I loved the most was the only solution to my pain. I was told that if I did not quit figure skating, my feet would be ruined to the point where one day walking would be a challenge. With my mom by my side I visited more doctors, tried absurd home remedies, and researched online, but nothing seemed to help. “Over use” and rest ware not acceptable answers. Headstrong and persistent I continued to skate.

Skating led me to Fairfax, Virginia where I trained in the summer and on school vacations with a coach that lived there. There is where I met another skater, Anna Madorsky, in the summer of 2010 who had struggled with injuries a few years prior. By her suggestion I made an appointment with a doctor in Baltimore. Although skeptical, I was hoping for a new perspective, hopefully one that offered answers. After six hours in Dr. Dellon’s office, sitting through tests, poking and prying exactly where it hurt, he came to a verdict, something no other doctor I had seen was able to do. Less than a week after the initial appointment, I headed back to Baltimore to have surgery on my foot.

Dr. Dellon was an atypical doctor to say the least. Of the six hours I spent in his office, I was not just waiting to see him or confused as to what he had to say. In this short period of time he got to know me as an individual, not just my injury. He continued to email, call, and check up on me after I had traveled back home to Cary. The following year I returned to Baltimore for a second surgery. He stayed in touch just as he had the first time making sure I was doing well, and answering any questions that came about.

Still, I did not fully realize how outstanding of a man Dr. Dellon was, or what a true friend I had gained until over a year after my most recent surgery. He contacted me not to check on my foot or see if I was better, but to see how life was going. Dr. Dellon impacted my life more than just helping me regain my physicality and ability to skate. His goal is not to just fix the problem, but rather to help and encourage the person that is stuck. Because of him I know now that in what ever I decide do I want to help people. I want my schooling and work to provide me with the opportunity to enhance other’s lives as Dr. Dellon did to mine. I want to be able to give other people hope and have them find a friend in me as he did and continues to do.

ML

McKenzie Lang 2 yr follow up



I have Charcot Marie Tooth Disease, AND I had nerve entrapments in my legs that made all my symptoms worse: Dr Dellon released the nerve entrapments in both my legs two years ago. I still have CMT , but now I no longer have the symptoms related to the nerve entrapments!!!

IMG 1294


Carolina

Naïve, reluctant, and stubborn I refused to accept this as my fate. When I was fourteen years old pain was a part of my every day life. Multiple doctors suggested that giving up the thing I loved the most was the only solution to my pain. I was told that if I did not quit figure skating, my feet would be ruined to the point where one day walking would be a challenge. With my mom by my side I visited more doctors, tried absurd home remedies, and researched online, but nothing seemed to help. “Over use” and rest ware not acceptable answers. Headstrong and persistent I continued to skate.

Skating led me to Fairfax, Virginia where I trained in the summer and on school vacations with a coach that lived there. There is where I met another skater, Anna Madorsky, in the summer of 2010 who had struggled with injuries a few years prior. By her suggestion I made an appointment with a doctor in Baltimore. Although skeptical, I was hoping for a new perspective, hopefully one that offered answers. After six hours in Dr. Dellon’s office, sitting through tests, poking and prying exactly where it hurt, he came to a verdict, something no other doctor I had seen was able to do. Less than a week after the initial appointment, I headed back to Baltimore to have surgery on my foot.

Dr. Dellon was an atypical doctor to say the least. Of the six hours I spent in his office, I was not just waiting to see him or confused as to what he had to say. In this short period of time he got to know me as an individual, not just my injury. He continued to email, call, and check up on me after I had traveled back home to Cary. The following year I returned to Baltimore for a second surgery. He stayed in touch just as he had the first time making sure I was doing well, and answering any questions that came about.

Still, I did not fully realize how outstanding of a man Dr. Dellon was, or what a true friend I had gained until over a year after my most recent surgery. He contacted me not to check on my foot or see if I was better, but to see how life was going. Dr. Dellon impacted my life more than just helping me regain my physicality and ability to skate. His goal is not to just fix the problem, but rather to help and encourage the person that is stuck. Because of him I know now that in what ever I decide do I want to help people. I want my schooling and work to provide me with the opportunity to enhance other’s lives as Dr. Dellon did to mine. I want to be able to give other people hope and have them find a friend in me as he did and continues to do.

 


 

I had a surgery just one year ago that truly changed my life. My father crossed paths, by chance, with a man by the name of Lee Dellon, my personal superman. He has done years and years of research perfecting this amazing operation. He performed, what I would consider a miracle. Because of the weakening of my nerves I have lostmost of the feeling in the bottom of my feet making it harder to walk and nearly impossible to tell when I have sustained an injury. Dr. Dellon was able to, in some amazing way, revitalize a number of these nerves in my feet. I am now able to tell the difference between hot and cold surfaces and I notice when I have stepped on something sharp or of danger. The significance of this in my life is too immense for words, and I am infinitely grateful.

KW from N

 


 

Not paralyzed anymore. Watch my toes lift up and down. Thanks Dr Dellon.

KH, Baltimore


Back to teaching zumba and weight training. You got my paralyzed foot to work again.

Tx Dr Dellon. CD,Zumba


 

Before Surgery

Patient has a foot drop or paralyzed right foot due to a compression of the common peroneal nerve at the fibular head.  This video demonstrates how she cannot move the foot upward or outward due to the loss of muscle function from this nerve compression.

Operation peformed by Dr. Eric Williams

After Surgery

This patient had surgery one week ago on the common peroneal nerve for a foot drop.  She had evidence for compression of the common peroneal nerve at the fibular head at the outside of her knee.  She has had incredible response to surgery after a very short period of time.    Within one week, this patient has had dramatic improvement in the strength of her foot as seen in the ability to raise the foot or dorsiflex the foot and to eat for the foot sideways.

Operation peformed by Dr. Eric Williams


This patient had a partial foot drop from an injury to the common peroneal nerve as well as loss of function to the sole of his foot and weakness in toe flexion due to a compression of the tibial nerve in the calf.  He underwent a decompression of the common peroneal nerve as well as the proximal tibial nerve.  3 months after surgery, the patient notices substantial improvement in function not only the common peroneal nerve going to the top of his foot and allowing him to raise his foot and move it laterally, but also he has had substantial improvement in the sensation of the sole of his foot and the function of his toe flexor muscles.

Operation peformed by Dr. Eric Williams


 

P1010466 3 800x600

Look at my foot lift up behind that lion. That is me on Safari 6 months after you operated on me. Ann R


 136 800x600 2 135 800x600

Happy New year 2013 to you! Remember that 4 years before you operated on me, a car ran over my left foot leaving me paralyzed with RSD. Here are two pictures from my Nicaragua trip, the first is pretty self explanatory, but the second one is me attempting to pull a 50 gallon pail of water from a 100ft well! Would never have thought either was possibe if it weren't for you and your surgery on my left leg 3 years ago. Joanna, Canada


Hi Dr. Dellon!

It's Katie M, you operated on me about four years ago when my leg was paralyzed. I will never be able to thank you enough for fixing my leg. Without you, I would probably still be on crutches, and I wouldn't be able to accomplish as much as I have. I played varsity tennis all four years of high school, and was first singles this year. I've qualified for YMCA Nationals for swimming since freshman year, placing 17th in the country in the 50 fly and I hold our swim team's record for the 50 free. I am a YMCA All-American for swimming as well. I know you recently talked to my mom, and I would love for you to read my college essay about my leg and the surgery. Sorry I wasn't able to send it earlier, we haven't had power due to the hurricane. I can't emphasize how much you impacted my life, and I'm so grateful we were able to find you. Thank you so much for everything.

Sincerely,
Katie M


Careening down the Super G racecourse at Gore Mountain in a tight tuck, I am going faster than ever before. My skis are on edge, chattering on the snow, when suddenly they skid and I am flying, tumbling through the air head over heels. I land with a thud and sharp shooting pain. While being carried down the mountain on a sled by the ski patrol, I have time to think. I am representing the New Jersey State Ski Team, skiing against kids from all over the northeast. While looking up at the clouds, I think how playing sports is a big part of my life. I love the competition, the quest for excellence, and, most of all, the friends that I make. I hope that my season is not over.

It turns out that I don't have to worry about my season being over, but whether or not I will ever play sports again. Because of the crash, my leg is paralyzed from the knee down and I am unable to walk without crutches. After months of doctors, tests, and way too many needles, I still don't know what's wrong.

It would be easy to give up hope, but for some reason I never do. I turn crutching into an Olympic sport, seeing how fast I can go and how many stairs I can leap. I decorate my crutches to match the seasons and my graduation dress. Using crutches or just hopping around on one leg, I am determined to try everything I can despite my injury. With difficulty and a push from dad (reminding me of when I first learned), I ride my bike. With my friend's help, I try surfing. Although I mostly just sit on the board, I do catch a few waves. With encouragement from my coach, I compete on my summer swim team. One of my happiest moments is using crutches to get to the pool edge, then hopping in and swimming with one leg all the way to third place, my family cheering from the sidelines. I start to understand why I never lose hope. My family and friends support me as much as my crutches; they won't let me fall.

I learned that my injury wouldn't stop my life, just change its course a little. I am proud of myself for continuing on, and never getting down. I could end the story here, but it has a different ending. We find a world-renowned surgeon that will perform reconstructive nerve surgery, and he successfully restores feeling and movement to my leg. While still on the operating table, woozy from the anesthesia, the surgeon asked me to wiggle my toe, and I could. I still needed months of physical therapy to regain my leg strength and mobility, but after the ordeal I had been through, that was nothing. Starting my freshman tennis season on crutches, I eventually play second doubles and we win the County Championships. In high school swimming, I am named MVP. Later in the year, my biggest accomplishment comes when I qualify for the YMCA Swimming National Championships. After not being able to walk for nine months, I worked my heart out to achieve even more than I could have dreamed.

Luckily for me, my story has a happy ending. However, I like to think that even if the surgery had not been successful, my life would be just as fulfilling as it is right now.


tennis1 800x600  tennis2 800x600

Katie's recovery from her snow skiing injury 4 years ago, in which her leg became paralyzed, is due to your brilliant surgery. This brings tears to our eyes. She is playing here for her High School's Tennis Championship. We are forever grateful to you Dr Dellon.


Surgery by Dr. Eric Williams

Patient is 2.5 months from decompression of the common peroneal nerve, superficial peroneal nerve, and deep peroneal nerve on the left for foot for severe burning pain from the knee to the top of the foot. She has had an excellent result.

 


 My foot is feeling so much better I am back to skating regularly again and even landed a double axel today!
                        




Jackie Swick wins first place on Balance Beam event after nerve releases at knee and leg by Dr Dellon 4 months ago.

Surgery by Dr Eric H. Williams, Baltimore, MD

Patient is 6 weeks from a decompression of the common peroneal nerve and the proximal tibial nerve in the left leg to try to help her recover function after a sciatic nerve injury associcated with a very complex hip replacement. The common peroneal nerve has improved to allow her to begin to pick her foot up, and the tibial nerve has already helped the sensation in the sole of the foot as well as the pain in the sole of the foot. A tendon transfer was also performed to help lift her great toe to a neutral position so she will not trip on it.

                              



 

Dancing with Dad, like Dancing with the Stars, after Dr Dellon stopped 3 years of pain & paralysis in my foot.

Sara P, NJ






 


Champion young gymnast returns to practice after nerve releases in her leg by Dr Dellon.



Able to do this "water boarding" 5 months after you helped my painful foot.

Great therapy. Thanks Dr. Dellon.









 

High school senior able to run on relay team after peroneal palsy and foot pain reversed by Dr Dellon's surgery.








Her left foot and leg no longer paralyzed, Sara will walk to her High School Senior classes.   
                  


                


                


Surgery by Dr Eric H. William, Baltimore, MD

Patient with left sided foot drop is seen prior to surgery with virtually no ability to raise the foot or move it outward.

 Dr Williams' patient Pre-op    
               



Patient has been in the recovery room for only 15 minutes after a decompression of the common peroneal nerve at the side of the knee. She already has improvement in the ability to raise her foot and move it outward.

Dr Williams' patient 15 minutes after surgery

              


           14 years of foot drop after ankle sprain                       
                             

    


                             


                             

                              


Denise Smathers, Tiffin, Ohio, June 19, 2006

For over two years, I struggled with pain, numbness and progressive weakness in my right foot, ankle and leg. I saw specialist after specialist and had numerous tests: MRI's, X-RAYS, EMG's... I finally found an Orthopedic surgeon at The Cleveland Clinic who discovered that I had a tumor on the nerve that controls my walking, the common peroneal nerve. He tried twice with surgery and did remove the tumor, but my symptoms came back each time. By March of 2006, I couldn't lift my right toes off the ground and was tripping and falling more and more. My surgeon knew of a doctor who dealt just with nerve-related problems: Dr. A. Lee Dellon. I flew to Baltimore, met Dr. Dellon and had surgery on April 20. Amazingly, when I awoke from the one and one-half hour operation, I could already move my foot and wiggle my toes freely! Since that day, I haven't tripped even once. My recovery has been smooth and quick, and my foot and ankle feel stronger each day. I still can't quite believe it's real, and I find myself kicking off my shoe and flexing my toes several times a day, just to make sure they work! I will be forever grateful to Dr. Dellon and his wonderful staff for the excellent care I received.

Thank you Dr. Dellon!


Peroneal Palsy

                             


Pre-op Patient # 1

                             

Post-op Patient #1

                             


Foot Drop - Surgery by Dr Eric H. Williams, Baltimore, MD

Patient one week after decompression of the common peroneal nerve for a one year history of foot drop. She already has improvement with walking, strength in her ability to move her ankle, the feeling on the top of the foot.

                             


Foot Drop

                             


Common Peroneal Nerve Palsy

                             

Recommended Links

 

Main Location

THE EXCHANGE BUILDING
1122 KENILWORTH DRIVE SUITE 18
TOWSON, MARYLAND, 21204

OFFICE: 410-337-5400
FAX: 410-337-0040
TOLL FREE
: 1-877-335-5661

“HEY MR. PERIPHERAL NERVE MAN" with apologies to Bob Dylan.

Ensemble, from left to right Nicole Rosson, Gedge Rosson, Lisabelle De Jesus, Virginia Hong, Luiann Greer, Bill Gately, Lee Dellon, Ramon De Jesus, Chris Maloney, Keith Greer pianist: Cynthia Cernak.